There will be peace…

September 30, 2010

Peace.

If you had asked me what that word meant 3 weeks ago, I would have told you it was a sign my almost 14-year-old niece uses every time she sees a camera. But over the last 3 weeks, through a series of events, I’ve come to LONG for this word in my life.

Don’t get me wrong, my life is blessed. Blessed beyond measure. I am so thankful for the way that God has been at work in my life and the life of my little family over the last year. I have learned so much about God’s faithfulness. But I recently found myself….discontent. Wanting something else, wanting to fast forward to the next stage of life, to move forward faster than I need to, to rush ahead.

And then my small group started reading this book “Finding Peace” by Charles Stanley. Even though we have barely started (we’re 4 chapters in), I’ve already gleaned so much from this book. Namely, peace and contentment are not the same thing. Contentment is a state of mind, a perception. I can decide that I am content with my current state. Peace is a perpetually state of BEING. Peace is pervasive. It is constant. Not peace in the political sense of the word, but in the spiritual sense. The peace that only God can provide. Even in the midst of some of life’s more difficult moments, His peace is still there. And it’s perfect.

I’m all about feelings. I love that warm fuzzy feeling I get when my husband says something sweet to me. I love the chills that I get when I can hear God’s people praising Him in unison. But feelings come and go. What joy and PEACE it gives me to know that God does not behave in such a fickle way!

So, am I completely at peace? Yes! I may not feel that way, but I know, like I know I love my husband, that I belong to the one who gives perfect peace!

Leave a comment