Answered Prayer

September 29, 2009

Change is in the air.

It appears that I, as well as the metaphorical climate, will be turning over a new leave in the next several weeks.

On Monday afternoon, after months of applying and praying for new job opportunities, I got a phone call to interview for a position in Hemet. I interviewed for it, but, for various reasons, I don’t think that job would have been a good fit for me.

On Tuesday afternoon, I got a phone call from the Center for Autism and Related Disorders (CARD) to invite me to a group interview on Friday September 25. I attended the interview. And was informed that I would be invited for the training to become a Junior Therapist for the agency.

Praise God! I have been having such a difficult time with the challenging atmosphere in my current position. God has really been testing my faith. As many of you know (particularly my family members), I am a HUGE worrier. I may or may not have inherited that…. So for the last several months I have been worried that I would be fired, that I would not make enough money, that people would be disappointed in me, that I’m a failure, etc., etc., etc. So one can imagine the relief and peace that I felt just knowing that I had another opportunity somewhere else to do what I love to do.

This morning I got the official call that I was invited to the training to become a Junior Therapist. I submitted my resignation. Due to a series of events not really worth discussing, my last day with B.E.S.T. Services, Inc. will be September 30, 2009. It’s actually a little bit bittersweet. In some regards, I have had such good experiences with this agency. I’ve grown a lot as a person, as a Christian, and as a behavior analyst. I’ve learned many valuable lessons about patience, diligence, perseverance, and grace. I’ve experienced the highs and lows of working with these kids, and I’ve seen the kids grow and develop in ways I would not have thought possible. However, it’s a relief to know that I can continue to do what I love, without feeling so…..depressed. There are of course, things that are still specifics that are unknown at this point. But I have peace about the decision, and I have assurance that the Lord will provide exactly the opportunities that I need. Continue to pray! Prayer is ALWAYS needed!

Leave a Reply

